How Long Can You Be Alone For?

Walking Down Road Alone

I’ve been spending the last days of summer stuck at home with a minor cold. It has been fantastic because it gives me lots and lots of time to read and write and relax. However, I realized that I went two full days without seeing anyone other than my immediate family and strangers in grocery stores.

This is not the first instance of me being alone for days at a time. When I was a kid I quite frequently spent whole weekends wrapped up in books or in my own rich inner world. It was only upon realizing that I hadn’t seen anyone for more than a few days that I would then venture out.

What is the longest period of time that you’ve ever spent alone? Did you enjoy it? Or did every minute seem inescapably long?

Leave a Reply

